News Regolink

Spagnoli-Parisi has won the 2016 Winter Marathon

The crew from Brescia composed by Franco Spagnoli and Giuseppe Parisi has won the UBI Banco di Brescia Trophy reserved to the winner of 28th edition of the Winter Marathon, which ended at 2.00 hrs this morning with the traditional arrival in Piazza Righi in Madonna di Campiglio. The little quantity of snow during the route and the costant cold (which reached -10°C on Pordoi Pass) featured an edition full of news starting with the route, changed for more than 50% that has received excellent feedback from participants.

Completing the podium the 1965 Volvo PV544 of Antonino Margiotta and Bruno Perno, once again runner up after the podium of last year and the 1938 Fiat 508 C of father and son Di Pietra able to improve the 5th place of 2015.

118 were the cars regularly checked and started from Madonna di Campiglio at 14.30, most of those returned in the early hours of the morning to stress an edition that has had no difficulties or problems. Bad luck for the crew Guggiana-Torri, forced to retire because of a bumping along the way. Surprising withdrawal for Giuliano Cané, six-time winner of the Winter Marathon and among the favorites of this year, who abandoned the race for an equipment problem on board.

Among Teams success for Franciacorta Motori, able to place 3 teams in the first 6 places; second place for Classic Team and third place for Volvo Club. Emanuela Cinelli and Elena Scaramuzzi won instead the special ranking for female crews on their 1967 Mercedes-Benz 250 SL while the best foreign crew was the one of japanese Kenji Nakahara and Kazuo Ishii on a 1965 Porsche 356 C Coupé.

The show of the Winter Marathon continued on Saturday afternoon with the live streaming of the two special trophies on the frozen lake reserved the first one to pre-war cars (MA-FRA Trophy) won by Francesco and Giuseppe di Pietra on a 1938 Fiat 508 C while the second one to first 32 classified crews of the Winter Marathon 2016 (TAG Heuer Trophy) won by Fontanella-Malta that on their 1955 Porsche 356 A Coupé have bet father and son Zanasi on a 1961 Volvo P1800; third place for Scarabelli-Adorni on a 1968 Lancia Fulvia Coupé 1.3.
The evening ended with the prize-giving ceremony of classified crews and, following, with the closing dinner and the toast farewell to 2017 edition, the tenth organized by Vecars.
On the images the protagonists crews of the Winter Marathon 2016: Spagnoli-Parisi,

Fiat 508 S del 1932 (photo Pierpaolo Romano)