10th VALLI BIELLESI: victory for Accardo and Becchina

For the Power Stage Classic, crowd bath and victory for Antonio Belotti and Maria Marchesi

share this article

The tenth edition of the Valli Biellesi, a classic regularity race valid as the fifth round of the Italian Vintage Car Regularity Championship, ended with victory for the Sicilian crew Angelo Accardo and Filippo Becchina; The Sicilian duo of Franciacorta Motori was at their first presence at the Piedmontese race and immediately found themselves at ease on the demanding roads of the Biellese area, providing a high level performance that allowed them to inscribe their name in the roll of honour, signing their second overall victory of the season after the one achieved at La Millecurve, and winning the RC2 Regrouping. Behind them, separated by 5.52 penalties, were last year's winners, Guido Barcella and Ombretta Ghidotti, also in a Fiat 508 C, with which they preceded the 1930 Fiat 514 of Gianmario Fontanella and Alessandro Malta, winners of Group RC1.

Fourth place went to Mario Passanante together with Franciacorta Motori Scuderia president Alessandro Molgora, in progressive harmony with the Fiat 1100 TV on which he took the RC3 Category lead. The Turinese Alberto Diana with Andrea Paradisi from Piacenza on Fiat 508 get the fifth place overall and in sixth place goes the young Nicola Barcella together with Maria Paola Cicala providing another high level performance, only penalised by the high coefficient assigned to their 1979 Autobianchi A112 Abarth with which they excel in RC4 and in the "Under 30" classification. A little far from their standard are the Paduan brothers Alberto and Giuseppe Scapolo in a Fiat 508 C, with which they do not go beyond seventh place in the overall standings, ahead of Andrea Malucelli and Monica Bernuzzi, eighth overall in a Fiat Duna, which they drive to victory in RC5. Ninth overall are Massimo Dalleolle and Andrea Camosci also in A112 Abarth and completing the top ten were Tuscans Claudio Lastri and Valter Pantani in Alfa Romeo Nuova Super.

Among the teams, Franciacorta Motori was a clear success, ahead of Nettuno Bologna and Kinzika. Victory for Gabriella Scarioni and Ornella Pietropaolo in the Innocenti Mini Cooper in the heated challenge for the women's classification. Of the fifty-one crews that started, forty-nine crossed the finish line in Piazza Martiri della Libertà after the final Power Stage.

The Ferrari 488 GTB driven by Fabio Vergamini and Anna Maria Fabrizi won the victory among modern cars post 1990.

TOURIST REGULARITY - On the same route as the titular race, but with a reduced number of chronometric readings as required by the regulations, the classic regularity race valid for the Challenge A.C. was held. Biella, at the end of which Andrea Bagatello and Jessica Tasinato in a Lancia Fulvia Coupè of the Scuderia Giovanni Bracco were proclaimed the winners, ahead of Gianluca Ferrari and Arianna Angelino in a Porsche 911 Targa and Filippo Anselmetti with Guglielmo Barberis completing the overall podium with the Talbot Sunbeam Lotus. At the foot of the podium was the Toyota Corolla of Alessio Bordignon and Giulio Ascari and completing the top-five were Massimo Sella and Simonetta Sartorello in a Fiat 850 Coupé. Satisfaction for Vittoria Caligaris and Giulia Prina Cerrai, winners of the women's classification in a Fiat 600, while for the teams, the loudest applause went to the winner Giovanni Bracco. Forty-five of the fifty-one starters were the crews that finished the regularity rally.

The prize-giving ceremony, hosted in the exclusive setting of the Circolo Sociale Biellese, brought down the curtain with dignity on the race, which overcame even the uncertainties of the weather and was contested in weather conditions that changed several times, from bright sunshine to a sudden heavy downpour. Unanimous comments from the participants, who on several occasions praised the work carried out by Veglio 4×4 and BMT Eventi in synergy with the Automobile Club Biella; all translated into an event where the quality of the route and hospitality, combined with the perfect management of the race direction, promoted the Valli Biellesi 2023 with full marks.